Purple Hearts for Pink Ribbon Ladies — and Gents!

I was talking recently with another breast cancer survivor about blessings that have come my way because I had cancer – skills I’ve learned, personal and spiritual lessons, humorous experiences related to coping with the disease and its treatments.

She said, “You know, some people will never be able to say there were any blessings related to cancer.” She also works with survivors, so I value her knowledge.

“Well, what about the word gifts?” I asked. “Would that be more palatable?”

“Maybe,” she said. “But, there are some people out there who do not see any good from cancer.”

I think that’s a sad way to live one’s life. Perhaps I’m a Pollyanna, but I want to grow personally no matter how challenging the trial I face. My sister’s death in an auto accident was a heartbreaker, and that’s an understatement! I will miss her until the day I die. But I was thankful that her teenaged children weren’t with her; her daughter especially was her frequent companion. I was grateful that she died instantly – there are more painful ways to pass.

Birthdays are blessings, celebrating time enjoyed with loved ones.

Birthdays are blessings, celebrating time enjoyed with loved ones — even with chemo hair!

And I learned a valuable lesson from her life. She worried about getting older and was dreading her fortieth birthday. She didn’t get old but she didn’t meet her grandchildren, either. I consider each birthday a great blessing, doubly so since I’ve had cancer. Each birthday is a celebration that I’ve experienced another year with those I love.  Each year, I look forward to more birthdays to come. Yes, my body will age, and perhaps also my mind. But along the way, I get to celebrate life passages with my husband, my children, and my extended family. What’s not to like about birthdays!

Purple Hearts for a Pink Ribbon Lady!

Purple Hearts for a Pink Ribbon Lady!

So, back to the question of blessings and gifts from cancer. As I searched for a term acceptable to those cancer survivors who struggle to see any good in a nasty disease, I stumbled upon the concept of a Purple Heart Award for Pink Ribbon Survivors. It was an idea fresh in my mind already. The previous week, I had cut hearts from purple paper and decorated them with glitter and silver penned words: love, hope, courage, and faith, for example. I mailed these purple hearts to a friend in another state undergoing breast cancer treatment.

I’ve always thought of the military Purple Heart award as a symbol for bravery or courage for people injured or killed in battle. When I researched the history and meaning of the Purple Heart, I was surprised to discover that it was an award for being wounded or killed in battle. It was not related to acts of bravery or meritorious attitudes on the part of the recipient. The honoree may not have been feeling especially brave when they were injured. They may not have even been actively engaged in a traditional battle at the moment they were attacked (think IED). Although I believe those who receive the purple heart are exceedingly brave, courageous, honorable people, the award comes for wounds caused by an outside enemy’s attack upon them, rather than any action they performed or character trait they demonstrated.

Purple Heart Award for Pink Ribbon Survivors

Purple Heart Award for Pink Ribbon Survivors

In that sense, I think anyone who has experienced cancer deserves a purple heart. Cancer sneaks up and attacks its victims, causing wounds and scars, seen and unseen. It is a stealth enemy and sometimes engages us in recurring battles. We may face the disease with bravery or fear, we may be passive or active in the ways we deal with it, and whether we are courageous or cowardly by nature, cancer doesn’t care. It’s the aggressor and we are the recipients of its attacks. We receive the wounds, regardless of our attitudes or personality. Cancer’s attacks make us eligible for Purple Hearts for Pink Ribbon Survivors (PRS). Maybe it is a small step toward recognizing something good from an exceedingly challenging life experience.

About Carolyn Mustian

Wife, Mom, Author, Friend, Aunt, Quilter, Breast Cancer Survivor, Public Speaker, Bible Study Teacher, Blogger. I love life and birthdays, holidays, people and family gatherings, flowers, and all creatures furry. I love to entertain, decorate, craft and create.
This entry was posted in Breast Cancer, Celebrating Life, Identities, Life Lessons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment