My First Tee-Shirt Quilt — Finally Finished!

I just sewed the last stitches in my first tee-shirt quilt production. It’s created out of my husband’s favorite tees from Promise Keeper conferences he attended over the years with other cool guys. I loved making this quilt for him because it represents great memories and spiritual growth. The quilt was a long time coming.

The Tee-Shirt Quilt

The Tee-Shirt Quilt

I started it in the fall of 2011. Then in a surprising life turn of events, I was offered a job – a good job. I wasn’t actually looking for work, but had toyed with the idea of going back to work before I got breast cancer. After that adventure in 2010, I had put away thoughts of returning to the workforce until this opportunity presented itself. I took the job and really enjoyed it. So, the pieces of the tee-shirt quilt went into a closet.

Then I published a book about my breast cancer experience, resigned the job to focus on the business side of publishing, and the quilt only made rare and short appearances off the unfinished projects shelf as other things competed for my attention. Last week, Ward asked, “How’s my tee-shirt quilt coming?” He knew I’d toyed with it a bit on a snow day a couple of weeks ago – that is, I set up the sewing machine and pulled out all the supplies, and then both of the boys came in because of snow cancelations at work and school. So I pretended they were school kids and we played away the day enjoying the unanticipated break from routine.

I love quilting. It was a new identity and passion following breast cancer treatment and a hobby which had been neglected for too long. So finally, a few days ago, I quilted the layers, setting the quilt free from the pins that had held it together for far too long. The past two days, I applied the binding (that last step is a hand sewing project).  I actually love doing binding; perhaps because it’s the final touch on a long project and signals completion. But I actually find sitting and sewing to be very relaxing. So, I’ve done a lot of relaxing with needle and thread the past couple of days. And now…

My cat is the first living creature to enjoy the new quilt!

My cat is the first living creature to enjoy the new quilt!

Ta-daaaa… It’s finished. I spread it out on the floor and went to collect my camera to take pictures for my album. When I returned (after probably two minutes!) the cat had found her way onto the brand new quilt, before Ward even got to see it for himself.

DSCN0523

After the very long wait, Ward is enjoying his new quilt!

Ward is pleased with the finished product, the cat is pleased with another warm place to curl up, and my youngest son is pleased that his dad’s quilt is done. Why? Because he’s already gathered a stack of basketball tees and jerseys for his own personalized quilt. For me, it’s another excuse to do something I really love – quilting – while I appear to be doing something for someone else! That’s happiness times two.

Rotary cutter, sewing machine, here I come!

About Carolyn Mustian

Wife, Mom, Author, Friend, Aunt, Quilter, Breast Cancer Survivor, Public Speaker, Bible Study Teacher, Blogger. I love life and birthdays, holidays, people and family gatherings, flowers, and all creatures furry. I love to entertain, decorate, craft and create.
This entry was posted in Family LIfe, Quilts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to My First Tee-Shirt Quilt — Finally Finished!

  1. Pingback: Project Optimism Week ?–It’s Finally Finished! | Crazywonderfullife

Leave a comment